Never enough poetry

Reading the poems on Toni Wynn’s website for my last post here inspired me to pull out an old binder of my typewritten poems (yes, I did say old). Before I discovered photography, my main creative outlet was writing poetry. Here’s a scan of one of them that I’m not too embarrassed to share.

PoemDo you have a poem to share in the comments here? I’d love to read it – whether it’s your original writing or your favorite from another writer. Happy national Poem in Your Pocket Day!

8 comments on “Never enough poetry

  1. Roxanne says:

    Love it Heidi!
    Here’s an oldie from me:

    I travel through a cloudless night
    lost, and no one to find me
    Calling, hailing, from far away
    no one to notice my plight
    The miles stretch before me
    dark and aged sand and sky
    The mirage appears, not water
    you as you were last
    I fight but am overtaken
    smothered by pillows of memory
    Waves of sweet nausea preside
    the headiness materializes
    Stumbling, I follow the chosen path
    but is it the right one for me
    The trees sing an enchanted song
    hauntingly deep melodies
    Bridges to the present
    are forgotten with the past
    The sun rises
    and the lie must end
    Else be kept
    in bitter-sweet silences

  2. I love Poem In Your Pocket Day, your poem, and that you shared it here!!

  3. Toni Wynn says:

    Nice imagery! I love the wind (when it’s not savaging homes and buildings). Your word choice: twisted, iron, diamond, silk — terrific. And ending with the waiting, the heaviness, that contrasts with the freedom of the wind — great stuff!

  4. timzauto says:

    nice post …we would love for you to write a poem for our challenge , just follow this link we have challenges one a week ..Thanks Tim http://anexerciseindiscipline.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/20-lines-or-less-weekly-writing-challenge/

Leave a Reply

