Lovely leopard lily: Photo of the day

Confession: I can’t easily tell the difference between a leopard lily and a tiger lily. George grows both, but they seem to bloom at different times of the year, so I can’t easily compare them side-by-side. To be fair, even he-who-grew-it (George) took a moment to figure out which one this was.

Leopard lily

Verdict: it’s a leopard lily. To be precise, a Lilium pardalinum (California Tiger Lily). Leopard lilies are California natives, whereas most Tiger lilies are Asiatic in origin. Does it matter which this one is? Probably not – I love all of them. So this photo, which I took a couple of years ago, is my favorite photo of the day. Enjoy!

You can see my other flower and nature photographs on my website.

Leave a Reply

