Joyeux Noel

I spent a happy hour flipping through my vintage postcard collection for a Christmas card to show you, and I found this marvelous “Carte Postale”:

Vintage French Christmas postcardThe banner says “Merry Christmas” in French. The adorable mam’selle’s portrait appears to be a hand tinted photo. I think the holly and other foliage around the top and right side are also done photographically, with the snow-dusted winter scene trees and banner drawn in.

And oh-la-la, there’s more!

Vintage French New Year postcardA matched pair, this banner says “Happy New Year” in French, with the same pretty lady and background. Neither card has a date on the back, and I can’t tell the year from the cancelled stamps. Interesting that the stamps are on the front. I guess it’s time to resurrect my college French to do some research into when these stamps were in circulation.

Joyeux Noêl et Bonne Année to you!

Leave a Reply

