Passion for Postcards

I’ve told you before how much I love vintage postcards, and that I love making fabric postcards from my own artwork. Last month I read a great book on mail art called Good Mail Day that had a list of sites to swap mail art. One really struck my fancy, called Postcrossing, where after you sign up you send postcards and then receive postcards back from people all around the world.

In their profiles people tell a bit about themselves and can say what kind of cards they’d like to receive. I have a huge collection of postcard books, and it’s really fun paging through them to find the perfect one for each person. A girl in Belarus said she liked “cars of your country,” so I chose this cool card for her.

Postcard

It takes a while for you to get your first postcard, because you only get on the list to receive one after one of your cards reaches its destination. You can send out 5 cards at first, so hopefully at least one or two will reach the person quickly. And pretty soon they increase the number you can send out at once; I’m up to 7. This is one of my favorites, sent by a woman in Germany:

Postcard

She mentioned that when she read my profile she thought it would have been better to get a card from me, so I sent her a message (you can contact people through their profiles if they agree to that) saying that I’d love to send her a card. I just mailed her my own ladybug greeting card:

Ladybug stretching card

At first I sent only commercial cards, but a girl in the Ukraine wrote that she liked handmade cards, nature, and animals, so I decided to print one of my hummingbird photos for her. I had read that postcards to Europe shouldn’t be too flimsy or they might crumple, so I printed the back and front on one sheet of paper, folded it over, and pasted them together to make it double-strength. Printing the back let me include a fun “Postcard” graphic I scanned from one of my vintage cards, which I also use to print on my fabric postcard backs.

Hummingbird postcard

I just sent my photo of a monarch butterfly on a sunflower to a woman in the Netherlands who likes postcards with flowers and animals. I printed it on Epson Velvet Fine Art paper, which is thicker than most other inkjet paper.

Postcrossing original postcard

It’s so fun both to send and receive cards. If you sign up for Postcrossing and want to exchange cards let me know – you can do direct swaps along with the random selection of addresses that the site generates for each normal swap. Happy Postcrossing!

Here are my other blog posts about postcards:

Handmade Fabric Postcards

Happy Peeps-Day!

Happy New Year!

Mad Hens

Woman Vacations on Santa Catalina Island

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Printing on Wood Veneer

3 comments on “Passion for Postcards

  1. Judy Tillson says:

    Hi Heidi, I love your postcards (both old & new). I make postcards with my photos on my iPhone with an app. Do you think these would be appropriate for the postcard exchanges?

    • Heidi Rand says:

      Hi Judy, That sounds cool! Do you mean those wonderful cards that are printed and mailed for you from an image you upload, and the recipient can punch out the image? I think they’d definitely be appropriate – can they be mailed internationally? If not, you’d just use them for the US exchanges. You have to put the Postcrossing number on the card somewhere, but I know you can include some limited text on those – I don’t have an iPhone but I used a similar service where I just uploaded from my computer instead of phone.
      Great idea! Heidi

      • Judy says:

        Thanks Heidi. I can easily post a message on the cards. I don’t know about the ones where they punch out an image, the app I have just sends regular postcards. And I have sent them internationally, so no problem there. I’ll sign up. It sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

