Gift and Art Show

Planning and putting on an art show can take over your life. I begin the process months in advance, and the buzz doesn’t end until the lights go out on the last day. Today’s the final day of my 2013 show, and I’m so thankful to the wonderful friends and collectors who have come by. Many out-of-towners asked for some eye candy, so here’s a quick tour for you guys!

First, some of my mixed media art hangings, including art quilts using fabric, Lutradur prints, canvas prints, and more.

Mixed media hangings

Fabric bowls and a vase – I sew these from my original design (and self-printed) fabric, and decorated wooden boxes using heat transfer techniques.

Boxes and bowls

My silk scarves – I design the fabric from my photographs and have them professionally printed.

Silk scarves

I love to make purses from the fabric I design and print. Two of these are upcycled from fabric sample books.

Purses

A table-full of goodies! Several of my handmade art books; Lutradur-decorated night lights; tiles; my original-design postage stamps; upcycled envelopes; Evolon bracelet cuff; upcycled Kindle covers.

Books and more

Fabric creations: my Owl Totem Doll, a stuffed Lars doll adorned with my pet collars (dog and cat), and fabric postcards.

Owl doll and fabric postcards

Two of the products I designed and Zazzle made: a glossy-covered notebook and a clock.

Clock and notebook

I have many new prints, including several on metallic gloss paper. Treasure bags – great for small gifts or to hold your phone, wallet, etc.

Prints

Necklaces! I print my photos on fabric, paper or canvas, and sandwich them between glass slides. Some have copper-embossed backs.

Glass slide necklacesA selection of my photo art ornaments. I print my photos on transparency film and insert them into glass ornaments. There are also lavender sachets, hummingbird prints on small canvases, and stuffed toys with animal photo fabric prints.
Photo art ornaments

George’s wonderful beeswax candles and his sublime soap are going fast!

George's beeswax candles

A basket of George’s soaps; fabric-covered light switch plates; my “Life Cycle of the Monarch Butterfly” poster.

George's soap; light switch plates

I’m having so much fun making upcycled envelopes from books that are torn up, scribbled on, or otherwise unusable. I even use a special glue so you can lick and stick them closed!

Upcycled envelopes

A bracelet cuff that I made using fabrics from a discarded sample book, with lace.

Upcycled bracelet cuff

Today (Sunday 12/15) is the last day – if you’re in the East Bay please stop by – I’m at The Village Shops and Galleries, 10330 San Pablo Avenue, between Eureka and Stockton Streets in El Cerrito, from 11 am to 6 pm. There’s street parking out front, and along with my artwork and crafts I’ve got plenty of snacks and friendly converstaion to offer.

2 comments on “Gift and Art Show

  1. Judy Tillson says:

    WOW,Heidi, I’m exhausted just looking at the wide variety of gorgeous items you have created. I love your scarves. Also the Owl totem doll is fantastic. Thank you so much for sharing, just wished I lived a bit closer & could see them in person, but the photos are the next best thing.
    Quick question: do you ever sleep? LOL

Leave a Reply

