A Merry Vintage Christmas!

You oughta know by now what Holiday Time O’ Year means on my blog! Without further ado, two of my favorite vintage postcards to celebrate Christmas.

Vintage Christmas postcard

In 1905 Ruth from Rhinebeck New York sent this beautiful embossed postcard, a harp adorned with holly and mistletoe, to “Miss Hattie Buck” of Weissport Pennsylvania. Following the instruction printed on the back of the card: “This side is exclusively for the address,” Ruth wrote nothing else.

Vintage Christmas postcard

The second postcard was never sent, so I can’t date it, but it has a timeless message. Our coy beauty in her lovely green gown says: “Christmas Greeting / Could I be there on Christmas Day / What I’d do — you know! / I’d see that I had my way / Under the mistletoe!”

Christmas stamp 1967

Finally, not nearly as old but equally fabulous, this Christmas stamp issued in 1967 was designed by Howard C. Mildner. The stamp shows part of the oil painting “Madonna and Child with Angels,” by Flemish artist Hans Memling. I’m smitten with the Art Nouveau typeface.

You can see my Christmas vintage postcard blog post from last year here.  And here is my 2012 post.

Happy Holidays to you!!

Leave a Reply

