Photo of the week

This week’s photograph of the week is another blended collage.

Candles

Candles

Every year I create a couple of holiday cards from my photos that George and I send to friends and family. I used to print my own cards, but for the last couple of years I’ve had zazzle print them.  I like the quality, and the price is reasonable.  Zazzle was having a half-off sale on cards, so I stayed up late the other night getting this year’s card finished.

I started with a photo I took of our holiday bubble lights in candelabras. George found these – they’re really fun because the liquid inside the glass bubbles up as it is heated by the light bulb. We even use one as a night light!

Bubble lightsI blended it with a photo I took of our lit Hanukah menorah candles. This reflects our blended family, since we celebrate both Christmas and Hanukah.

Menorah candles

Menorah candles

I thought that the blending tool I chose brought out some interesting colors and patterns.  Here’s a closeup of one of the variations I made, this one is more abstract:

This is the whole image:

Candles abstract

Do you design and make your own holiday cards? I’ve noticed that each year fewer people are sending cards, is it the expense or just the ease of email?  Are you going to say “Happy Holidays” on your facebook page, by email, or by card?

Leave a comment