ArtFirst! Pop-Up Holiday Show and Sale

Since 2004 I’ve spruced up my basement studio and invited people in to see my artwork and handmade crafts for my yearly holiday Open Studio and Sale. From the beginning I dreamed of including other artists, but those of you who have come by know how small the space is, and that I filled it to the brim with my own work.

Garden Delights Arts & Crafts open studio

Well, my dream is finally about to come true. ArtFirst!, the art cooperative I started this year, is having a group pop-up art show and sale at the Village Shops and Galleries, 10330 San Pablo Ave., El Cerrito, starting the last weekend in November and running through the first weekend in December.

ArtFirst! Holiday Art Show and Sale

We’ll be there from November 24th through December 2nd, from noon to 6:00 pm, open every day except Monday and Tuesday.

The opening launch party will be held on Saturday Nov. 24, from 5:00 to 8:00 pm. I hope you can all make it, it’s going to be a blast! Our host at the VS Galleries, Mark Canepa, says he’s going to roll out the red carpet (really), and you’ll be able to meet the artists and enjoy music, wine and yummy snacks.

You won’t want to miss this exciting opportunity to see the diverse and unique work of eleven talented local artisans, and to shop local for original and one-of-a-kind handmade gifts for yourself and for family and friends. Some highlights include assemblage art by Beka Brayer, my nature-based arts and crafts, blown glass by Holly Wallace, vintage-inspired loomed beadwork by Julie Long Gallegos, mixed media and fiber arts by Grace Taormina, fused glass jewelry and handmade soap by Jane and Nadine Robbins-Laurent, artisanal botanical perfumes by Laurie Stern, painting by Victoria Veedell, Rachel Taormina and our host Mark Canepa, and much more!

As always I’m eager to show you the many new photographs I’ve taken this year, and I’ve been working hard on my nature-based artwork and crafts. George brewed up a new batch of his wonderful natural soaps and we have a limited edition line of beeswax candles from local beehives.

Hummingbird at Flax Flower

The Gallery is wheelchair accessible and there’s plenty of free parking. It’s about a half mile from the El Cerrito Plaza BART station. I hope to see you there!

Follow ArtFirst! on Facebook. And please check out our website.

3 comments on “ArtFirst! Pop-Up Holiday Show and Sale

  1. daydreamer says:

    great post! it is such an exciting time!

  2. So happy for you, and looking forward to being at the kick-off!

Leave a comment